Absolute Honour: An Adventurous Tale of Spies and Jacobites, Love and Betrayal in the 18th Century (Jack Absolute)

Absolute Honour: An Adventurous Tale of Spies and Jacobites, Love and Betrayal in the 18th Century (Jack Absolute)

C.C. Humphreys

Language: English

Pages: 320

ISBN: 1402282273

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


"Jack escapes death more often than James Bond... An exciting romp!" – Sunday Telegraph (UK)

Blooded on the battlefields of Canada, fresh from a winter spent in a voluptuous widow's bed, the dashing Jack Absolute has every reason to feel good. And life only gets better when the ship returning him to England captures a rich prize.

But gold is not all the enemy ship holds. Fever nearly kills Jack, his life barely saved by a new comrade, Red Hugh McClune. Their resulting friendship takes him to Bath to recover-and into a passionate romance with McClune's beautiful cousin, Laetitia.

Yet neither cousin is who they seem, and tragedy soon strikes Jack. This time, he escapes with his life, but loses what he loves most-his honour.

The thrilling finale to C.C. Humphrey's historical adventure series,Absolute Honoursweeps readers into a world of bravery, betrayal, passion, and glory at whatever cost.

From daring espionage in Rome to the battlefields of Spain to a climactic duel against an unbeatable foe, Jack seeks to restore that honor with consequences he could never foresee and a price to be paid in blood.

Join our swashbuckling scoundrel in this adventurous historical fiction set around the American Revolutionary War.

Fans of Simon Scarrow, Bernard Cornwell, Jeff Shaara and Diana Gabaldon will eagerly follow the adventures of Jack Absolute.

The Jack Absolute Series:
The Blooding of Jack Absolute, Book #1
Jack Absolute, Book #2
Absolute Honor, Book #3

What readers are saying about Absolute Honor:

"Another great swashbuckling adventure"

"plenty of action and daring do.... the 18TH CENTURY JAMES BOND."

"full of adventure and intrigue"

"a good balance of historical fact and thrilling fiction with WAR, RIVALRY AND ROMANCE you will find it hard to put down."

"RAPTUROUS story telling."

"the kind of breakneck adventure for which the term "rollicking" was coined"

"A MUST READ for any historical buff, and to say the least extremely well written."

What reviewers are saying about hero Jack Absolute:

"A RIP-ROARING ADVENTURE PACKED WITH ACTION, DRAMA, AND PASSION."-Kate Mosse, author of Labyrinth

"Jack in all his swashbuckling glory...Humphrey's acting background brings drama to life in Jack's legendary tale."-Booklist
"A vigorously imagined, DASHINGLY DONE ESPIONAGE adventure."-Literary Review (UK)

"Jack proves once again to be a dynamic hero-an HONORABLE SPY with a soft spot for love-and a bangup leading man for what is fast becoming a rousing, must-read series." – Publishers Weekly

"An absolute delight! Swashbuckling adventure, eighteenth-century wit, hugely entertaining plots, and one of the most appealing military gentlemen ever to wear a sword." –Diana Gabaldon, Author of The Outlander

Hell and High Water

The Screaming Staircase (Lockwood & Co., Book 1)

After America (The Disappearance, Book 2)

The Last River: The Tragic Race for Shangri-la

The Battle for Skandia (Ranger's Apprentice, Book 4)

The Saint In New York (Simon Templar 'The Saint', Book 15)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Do not your Mohawk brothers take scalps as the prize of war, Absolute? Well, it seems your father, in service in Germany, took a few of his own. Metaphorically, I am sure. Well, almost sure.” Another yawn came. “We could do with Mad Jamie Absolute the day after tomorrow when we storm Valencia de Alcántara.” *** In the dried-up creek bed a vow of silence held, as binding as in any monastery. From his elevated position at the valley’s end, the moonlight showed Jack the shadowy forms of the

poised to invade Portugal, order his adjutant to destroy this document first? Unless it was of great import?” “Hmm. We could ask him if he wasn’t on his way to prison in England.” Burgoyne was staring at the map again. “Well, all will become clearer reasonably soon. Within a month anyway. Because our line of retirement to the Tagus will take us very close to the plain of Vila Velha, if not directly across it. And since all British forces will be doing the same, we should finally be able to

sister’s pistol has put them to flight.” There was a pause in the fan’s vibration. “My…sister? Oh, do you mean Miss Fitzpatrick?” A small smile came. “Indeed we have oft been mistaken for siblings.” The fan started up again. “Though I am, in fact, her aunt. Mrs. O’Farrell.” “The resemblance is startling.” In fact, there was none at all. The word was entirely reserved for the eyes Jack had glanced into again. “Startling, ’tis certain.” It was only the second time he had heard her

enough, I fear. Though perhaps here I will find the cure,” he replied, his eyes on Letty. “Perhaps you will, sir,” she said, and he thrilled, as ever, to that low voice. “I do hope so.” “Lawks, don’ concern yesself there, lovey,” squawked the fishwife. “They’ve cures for all sorts ’ere. Deal again, shall I?” Some agitation at the door made him turn to see his twin admirers from before, manicured fingers pointing at Jack, shooing a small neat man ahead of them. A whispering crowd

“We’ll see if we cannot make you into a soldier again, Absolute. You are slack, sir. Devilishly slack. Can’t have the cornet of my troop let me down,” he’d said, when Jack had returned empty-handed the previous night. A rabbit ran across his path, but there was no point even reaching for the gun. The wager had been clarified by a quorum of officers as requiring enough meat to feed the entire mess with flesh, not the flavoring for a soup! Still, the sign of even so much life was better than

Download sample

Download