Timeriders City of Shadow Book 6

Timeriders City of Shadow Book 6

Alex Scarrow

Language: English

Pages: 448

ISBN: 0141337079

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub

Liam O'Connor should have died at sea in 1912. Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010. Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026. But all three have been given a second chance - to work for an agency that no one knows exists. Its purpose: to prevent time travel destroying history . . . Hunted by cyborg assassins from the future, the TimeRiders must abandon New York and go on the run. They escape to Victorian London and the streets where Jack the Ripper roams. But, before they can establish their new base, they make their most shattering discovery yet - and it will change everything . . . ** Book six in the bestselling TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow. ** Victorian London's Jack the Ripper get a time-travel makeover! ** Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. ** TimeRiders (Book 1) won the Red House Book Award older readers category, and was Penguin UK's first ever number one on the iBookstore. ** www.time-riders.co.uk

Heroine: A Storytelling Game

Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, Book 3)

Blood Vengeance (Matt Drake, Book 7)

Tartok The Ice Beast (Beast Quest, Book 5)

Midnight Over Sanctaphrax (The Edge Chronicles, Book 3; The Twig Trilogy, Book 3)

Biggles: Pioneer Air Fighter













they heard bolts slide and the wooden door creaked open. The man waved them in. ‘You come in… see. No criminal here.’ Liam and Bob stepped inside and almost immediately felt a fug of warm moist air against their faces. The arch was dimly lit by several bulbs dangling from the arched ceiling. ‘You see… no bad man here!’ snapped the Chinese man. Liam looked around the gloomy interior. There were about a dozen men and women standing over tubs of steaming water, stirring clothes with ladles,

very subtly different about Times Square long before her brain did. Something was different. Her eyes flickered around the busy triangular convergence of streets, thick with Monday-morning traffic. ‘What is it?’ she whispered. ‘What is it?’ Then her shifting scrutiny rested on something that hadn’t been there before… a new thing. Above the entrance to the PrimeTime cinema the billboard that had been announcing the arrival of Planet of the Apes had instead been replaced by a large flickering

the busy pavement to the mouth of a quiet backstreet. She pulled out her mobile and dialled the field office. The display showed two words. No signal. Confused for a moment, she quickly realized she could see no one else talking into a mobile phone either. In fact, she could see no one even holding one, nor any adverts for top-up cards or service providers or deals with free texts, nor stalls selling novelty phone covers… nothing at all to do with mobile phones. ∗ Maddy looked up at Foster.

towards it, that’s where they were headed. ‘Suggestion: I leave you here and attempt a rescue when the percentage chance of success exceeds ten per cent.’ Liam gritted his teeth. No, both he and Bob would be riddled with rapid-fire high-calibre rounds before he could get them both halfway across the lawn to the trees. Bob might well be able to survive several more shots on target, but Liam didn’t fancy he’d survive one… given the ragged wounds he’d seen the pulse carbines inflict. ‘There’s

there was an accepted understanding that, for better or worse, time could not be allowed to change. ‘That machine was the only machine, wasn’t it?’ asked Karl. ‘Paul…?’ Only Karl was allowed that privilege now – using his first name, and then only when it was just the two of them. ‘Yes, Karl… it was the only one.’ By destroying Waldstein’s prototype behind him, Kramer had been certain that no one could follow them back in time and their efforts to change the world for the better be undone.

Download sample